HomeMarketing4 polls still open in Nunavut territorial election, no results yet

4 polls still open in Nunavut territorial election, no results yet

Nunavut is waiting on four polls in western Arctic to close. 

All polls close at 7 p.m. local time. Twelve polls in the Eastern time zone and six in the Central time are now closed. There have been no results reported yet. 

The election has 58 candidates vying for 22 seats across the territory. Of those, 16 candidates are running for re-election and 14 are women.

The election is only the first step in selecting the territory’s next legislative assembly. MLAs, once elected, need to select a premier and a cabinet. That is tentatively scheduled to happen Nov. 17, when members take their sealskin-upholstered seats in the assembly at a leadership forum. 

Five MLAs have been acclaimed to Nunavut’s sixth Legislative Assembly, including the most recent premier, Joe Savikataaq, who will represent the constituency of Arviat South again in this assembly. 

Also acclaimed was fellow Arviatmuit John Main, who will represent the residents of Arviat North-Whale Cove. He served as chair of the regular members’ caucus in the fifth assembly, a role in consensus government that serves a similar function to leader of the opposition in the party system. 

In Pangnirtung, Margaret Nakasuk has been acclaimed, as has David Akeeagok in the High Arctic riding of Quttiktuq and David Joanasie in South Baffin. 

All the acclaimed MLAs, aside from Main, held cabinet positions in the previous government.

Residents of the Iqaluit-Manirajak constituency voted at the Cadet Hall on Monday. (Mario de Ciccio/Radio-Canada)

How to watch CBC’s election coverage

Joanna Awa, host of CBC Nunavut’s Inuktitut-language supper-hour TV news broadcast Igalaaq, will host CBC’s live election night special in Inuktitut and English.

The show starts at 9 p.m. ET, when polls close in western Nunavut.

She’ll be joined by guests Nancy Karetak-Lindell, Nunavut’s former Liberal MP, and Paul Okalik, Nunavut’s first premier. 

Former premier Paul Quassa will also appear, along with other guests.

Watch the special live on CBCNews.ca, on our CBC Nunavut Facebook page or on CBC Gem. You can also tune in on CBC North Radio One, or follow us on Twitter, @CBCNorth. 

Results by constituency will be updated here as they come in.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read