HomeWallabies nominated at World Rugby Awards, Michael Hooper, Dave Rennie, Samu Kerevi,...

Wallabies nominated at World Rugby Awards, Michael Hooper, Dave Rennie, Samu Kerevi, Andrew Kellaway nominated

After an encouraging year of Tests under coach Dave Rennie, four Wallabies have been nominated at the 2021 World Rugby Awards.

Star Wallabies Michael Hooper, Samu Kerevi and Andrew Kellaway as well as coach Dave Rennie are up for honours at the 2021 World Rugby Awards.

The four were announced among the nominees on Monday evening (AEDT), with the winners set to be named virtually from December 6-10.

Kayo is your ticket to the best local and international sport streaming Live & On-Demand. New to Kayo? Start Your Free Trial >

Hooper and Kerevi are both vying to become the first Aussie to win the Men’s 15s Player of the Year Award, which will be decided by a fan vote for the first time.

Hooper became the Wallabies’ most-capped captain of all time this year and has been the side’s guiding light in the Rennie era.

Kerevi, meanwhile, was in devastating form on his return from a two-year Test absence and was integral to the side’s five-match hot streak that stretched from the Rugby Championship and into the spring tour.

Kellaway and Rennie are up for Breakthrough Player of the Year and Coach of the Year respectively, with the winners of both categories set to be determined by a judging panel.

Kellaway has only missed one Test since making his Wallabies debut in the first of three matches against France.

He has scored eight tries from 11 appearances and was particularly influential in the Wallabies’ second win over Argentina during the Rugby Championship, scoring three tries and handling a midgame switch to fullback with aplomb.

For his part, Rennie has this year masterminded a thrilling series win over France, as well as defeats of South Africa, Argentina and Japan.

Rugby Australia CEO Andry Marinos congratulated the four men on their nominations.

“This is a huge achievement, and great recognition for Michael, Samu, Andrew and Dave after what has been an encouraging Wallabies season,” he said.

“It’s great personal reward for each of them as we continue to build into 2022 and the Rugby World Cup in France which is now just around the corner.

“I encourage every fan to make sure they get online and vote for Michael and Samu, to ensure an Australian takes home the World Rugby Player of the Year crown.”

Fans can vote on six of the eight World Rugby awards until polling closes on November 21 at 10:59am (AEDT).

The 2021 World Rugby Awards Nominees are:

World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year in association with MasterCard (fan vote)

Antoine Dupont (France)

Michael Hooper (Australia)

Maro Itoje (England/British and Irish Lions)

Samu Kerevi (Australia)

World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year in association with MasterCard (fan vote)

Zoe Aldcroft (England)

Caroline Boujard (France)

Laure Sansus (France)

Poppy Cleall (England)

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year in association with Tudor (panel vote)

Will Jordan (New Zealand)

Andrew Kellaway (Australia)

Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales)

Marcus Smith (England)

World Rugby Coach of the Year (panel vote)

Allan Bunting/Cory Sweeney (New Zealand Women’s Sevens)

Ian Foster (New Zealand Men)

Simon Middleton (England Women)

Dave Rennie (Australia Men)

World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC (fan vote)

Napolioni Bolaca (Fiji)

Scott Curry (New Zealand)

Marcos Moneta (Argentina)

Jiuta Wainiqolo (Fiji)

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC (fan vote)

Anne-Cécile Ciofani (France)

Sarah Hirini (New Zealand)

Alowesi Nakoci (Fiji)

Reapi Ulunisau (Fiji)

International Rugby Players Men’s Try of the Year (fan vote)

Lukhanyo Am (South Africa, v British and Irish Lions on 31 July)

Pierre-Louis Barassi (France, v Australia on 17 July)

Luke Jacobson (New Zealand, v Argentina on 12 September)

Damian Penaud (France, v Scotland on 26 March)

International Rugby Players Women’s Try of the Year (fan vote)

Sara Barattin (Italy, v Scotland on 13 September)

Emilie Boulard (France, v Wales on 3 April)

Abby Dow (England, v France on 24 April)

Romane Ménager (France, v Ireland on 17 April)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read